shape
carat
color
clarity

CutAdvisor: How do I read the results? TIC?

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

gemfire

Rough_Rock
Hello,

I am new at selecting diamonds, but I am in the market for a diamond engagement ring. I have found a possible signature-ideal diamond on BlueNile.com. Did an analysis on CutAdvisor (https://www.pricescope.com/cutadviser.asp), and the resulting "Total Visual Performance" scored above 1.0, but below 1.5. How do I read this? Is lower better or otherwise?

Does anyone have comments about BlueNile.com? BBB shows them as reputable and I have read good comments on ePinion.com.

Thanks a bunch!

New guy... gemfire

smaggard

Rough_Rock
If you get a score below 2, that is the important thing (ruled out known losers). I wouldn't put too much direct emphasis on the numbers below that to say 1.0 is better than 1.5 or anything like that. Due to the slight variances or errors in different machines, the numbers can change ever so slightly. For instance for the SuperbCert I recently purchased, I have the original OGI Megascope report, as well as a Sarin report, to get the angles and values from. So on one report the average crown angle is 34.3, while the other is 34.4, and some of the other numbers have similar variances. So using different combinations, I get an HCA score of between 0.9-1.4....and this is the same stone.
Hope that didn't confuse you, just wanted to point out not to get too engulfed into thinkinhg you need .3 lower on HCA. If the highest you got was 1.5, that's enough to know you weeded out the losers and probably have a nice stone. Of course to take it one step further you can have it sent to an independant appraiser and have everything checked out. there are many listed under "appraisers" here, and all have good reputations, but that's your choice, whether you want to pay an appraiser to verify it and all.
Good luck!
10.gif
10.gif

pricescope

Ideal_Rock