shape
carat
color
clarity

Cultural appropriation or appreciation?

diamondyes

Brilliant_Rock
If I wear jewelry from another culture, is that cultural appreciation or appropriation? Where is the line? Thanks for making this an educational discussion, I’m seeking to learn!

Matata

Ideal_Rock
Premium
We've had a few discussions about it already. You might want to scan through them to seek answers to your questions:

seaurchin

Ideal_Rock
I am far from an expert on that but I think we'd need a concrete example to go on here. ?

I don’t mind weighing in, thanks for tagging me @Daisys and Diamonds!

My personal view is that wearing jewelry, clothing, accessories etc from any culture is not appropriation, it is appreciation, as long as it’s done tastefully/respectfully, acquired through artisans of the culture, and avoids symbols with particular “meaning”.