shape
carat
color
clarity

Conflict Diamonds...a little reassurance please.....

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

flowerladytoo

Shiny_Rock
Hi
I am pretty new to pricescope and have been reading and trying to learn for a few weeks now. Hubby and I have been visiting jewelers to look at halos....I want to get a good idea of the style I like before we take that plunge.

A couple weekends ago we went mall crawling. Visited probably 20 or more jewelers in and around Mall of America over a couple days. Boy were our eyes opened. The diamonds were, to put it mildly, mostly garbage, and nice halo rings were few and far between, and semi mounts pretty much non existent. When I asked about GIA certs etc, most places only had IGI (I think it was IGI). I was told IGI was superior to GIA, and I KNOW that is not true! Plus my eyes told me these diamonds were not good, many had black carbon visible, even the ones that were graded VS-2. Yuck!