shape
carat
color
clarity

Comments on Shane Co. and opinions on my purchase

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

kskistimas

Rough_Rock
I'm a complete novice when it comes to selecting diamonds. I've learned a lot since I started shopping last month and today I took the plunge. Perhaps I'm having buyers remorse tonight possibly for actually putting out the cash, but what I really want a nice engagement ring for my future fiancee.

This afternoon I purchased a wedding set and a diamond from my local branch of Shane Company. I'm not too concerned about the ring, but I'd like opinions on whether I should get a better diamond or if I paid too much.

The stone I purchased is 1.03 CT F I1 and I paid $4315. Based on my research this appears to be a fair price for this size. What I'm wondering about is this standard quality for an engagement ring diamond or should I exchange the stone for a smaller and better quality one?

I'm happy with the color but the clarity is on my mind. The one I picked out has an inclusion that's mostly hidded by the facets and very hard to locate by the naked eye. There's also a tiny speck of a mineral deposit in the bottom but it's not noticable without a lupe. I had the option of going with a .85CT that had better clarity but was 2 lower on the color scale. I could see the difference with my naked eye so I chose the larger one with better color.

Any opinions on this purchase and/or the Shane Company? Like I said I'm a novice but I want something nice and don't want to be taken on the deal. I have 30 days to return or exchange so I'm continuing on my homework. Sorry for such a long post, thanks in advance.

Ken

lawmax

Brilliant_Rock
Hi,