shape
carat
color
clarity

china pearls

Cehrabehra

Super_Ideal_Rock
Okay - I could read all of the threads and become an expert... or... taking the plea from RT I could just start my own thread hehe

I see pearls all over the place - tons and tons and tons of them... all colors - blue, pink, peach, grey, steel, green, white, off white, yellow... most of them are not perfectly round but they're pretty cheap. They're just strands, most of the jewelry has what I would consider inferior findings.

So when you see strands like this do you just turn your nose? Are they too inferior to love? When it comes to pearls is it really about the one in a million or is there intrensic value in a particular color?

My experience looking at jade here is that it's hard to get a deal - they want to overcharge for crap, but when you find something really good - they know it. Same with pearls I'm sure...

iLander

Ideal_Rock
WELCOME! THANK YOU for stopping by! :wavey:

Okay, I'm new to pearls too and ready for someone to correct me, but here is what I think are a list of pearls from most common to least common, and the value usually corresponds. There are some I don't understand yet, like hakadama (?) and keshi (?) but these are all I know about;

Freshwater (they're everywhere, all shapes, colors, some are dyed, etc., there are tons of farms in China)
Akoyas (Mikkimoto's big sellers-most are white)
Black Tahitian (undyed are prized)
White South Seas-Jumbo and usually HUGE
Golden South Seas-my personal favs
Kasumi (a lumpy naturally rainbow colored pearl out of one single lake in Japan)-I aspire to own just one single pearl of these

SO MANY Pearls today are just plain fake, made of plastic. To check if they're real, rub them across the flat surface of your teeth. If they are smooth, they're fake. If they're real, it feels slightly sandy.

All of the pearls come in different quality levels depending on