shape
carat
color
clarity

Casting your own ring

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

pvag

Rough_Rock
Hi,
Question from a new subscriber. I have designed my wedding ring and I would like to have it cast (I have the CAD file plus I can make a plastic models of it if needed).
My thinking is that if I could find a place to cast it an polish it for me I could save the overhead added by a jeweler (which can be pretty high).
I have tried calling a few casting places I found online, but all of them seem to only want to work directly with jewelers so as to not compete with their costumers...
Has anybody ever tried to do this?
My design is pretty simple and I would like to cast it in platinum (5%), I only need two pieces, I am an engineer and I am very confident on the specs, shrinkage, etc (I have sent parts to cast
in the past, not for jewelry though).
Any thoughts or pointers would be very welcome.

Thanks!

D&T

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
you''ll still need a jeweler to put the diamonds in inspect it and polish the rough cast. unless you are a metalsmith as well?

pvag

Rough_Rock
Hi,
Thanks for the reply. I trying to cast my wedding band. It won''t have a diamond or any other stone on it, only platinum...

Lady_Disdain

Ideal_Rock
Trade
There are several casting firms that do work for hobbyists. I think Ganoksin.com has a reputable vendors list or check out art jewelry magazine. I am not sure if the finishing work is good though.

Generally, jewelry is cast from a wax model. I am not sure how the plastic will burn out. Another thing to consider is sprue placement. Check if the casting company work from the object you send them or if they expect you to send a wax already sprued. If they want the second, I would recommend you get a good jewelry book for tips on sprueing (Tim McCreigh is a good place to start, Oppi is the expert resource).