shape
carat
color
clarity

Career crisis! Mid 20''s and very lost.

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

Porridge

Ideal_Rock
Ok so the title is a little dramatic...but I'm going out of my mind with indecision.

Here's the background, from the beginning. Ok lets be honest here, it's not background. It's my life story. Feel free to skip on if you're not in autobiographical mood. This is gonna be loooooooooooooooong.

I am a good student. I did very well in school. I loved maths and physics. I enjoyed economics but had to drop it in 5th year as there was a timetable clash with chemistry. (I needed two science subjects and didn't want to do biology.) I went to a career guidance counsellor who did all these tests, looked at my grades, and told me to do medicine. So I went for it, but didn't get the points necessary. Close, but no cigar. The only thing left on my uni application list was science, so that's what I did, with the notion that I'd apply for graduate medicine afterwards. I really enjoyed maths and physics in first year. I was in maths class with the financial maths and economics students and actually applied to switch over but unfortunately, it was not possible. A couple of weeks to late.

I studied on, but I was aimless. At this point I really should have taken a year out and tried work experience. But I LOVED college. I was really involved in the musical society and sports. I loved the city I was living in, I had a ton of wonderful friends (still do) and was just having a really great time. But I was not interested in my course. I still enjoyed the maths and physics. I struggled with biology.