shape
carat
color
clarity

Canadian diamond sales promote Afriacn poverty

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

Garry H (Cut Nut)

Super_Ideal_Rock
Trade
That might be a little strongly worded, but it is an issue I feel is important, since we hear that Canadian diamonds sell at 10 -15% premiums over diamonds from the rest of the world (and most diamonds still come from Africa).

This news story prompted me to write this letter to the editor. If others agree with me please join in - the link to write is on the lower left side of their website.

This is what I wrote:

Sales hot for Canada''s ''conflict-free'' diamonds, Marke Andrews
Vancouver Sun Wednesday, October 20, 2004

CANADIAN DIAMOND DEMAND KEEPS AFRICAN''S POOR

After reading your news story on a Canadian diamond information site Pricescope.com (non sales site of which I am a contributing diamond expert), a different perspective could be of interest to your readers.

The diamond industry and the UN has implimented a method of international certification called the Kimberley Process. This and general awareness within the industry has largely cleaned up illicit and forced diamond mining and smuggling. The west African nations now have (comparitvely) stable governments and tax paid exports are growing ten fold and greater.

The export tax revenue and general wealth from diamonds has been the primary source of funding for infrastructure in other African nations such as Namibia and Botswana. These two nations have the lowest AIDS and better education systems of that poor continent because of diamonds.

It is a sad fact however that they (and the West African nations) are unable to proudly market their diamonds as African because of stories such as the one you ran.