shape
carat
color
clarity

Calling Gypsy and other CAD experts... ERD/BE CADs

HegemonyCricket

Shiny_Rock
I received the CADs for the SS-inspired ring with 2.61 ct center emerald cut that Mark T. is making for my mom (size 4+ with sizing beads). I've never done the CAD custom thing before... Could someone take a a look and give feedback?

Single Stone inspiration ring (thanks, Gypsy!):

CADs (will be hand engraved later):

imageuploadedbytapatalk1453418457.jpg

imageuploadedbytapatalk1453418470.jpg

imageuploadedbytapatalk1453418492.jpg

imageuploadedbytapatalk1453418501.jpg

Niel

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
What size is the shank? The shank, and thus the squares, seem a tad large.

Gypsy

Super_Ideal_Rock
I think he's trying to match the proportions of the original setting with the smaller stone. I don't think that's a good idea in this case. Tell him the proportions of the setting are too large and to scale it back a bit to let the center stone be more prominent.

The original ring is set with a much smaller center. So the side design and shank are delicate. With your larger stone matching scale for scale is creating a very large and blocky setting. I'd have him tweak that until the side design and shank are back to being delicate.

Niel

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
If you loose the look by reducing the size of the squares, maybe consider three squares and then two squares, instead of two than one ?

Niel

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Also, the goal of the prongs in the original seems to be to square off the stone. In yours, they seem to create little points that jutt out from the stone

Gypsy

Super_Ideal_Rock
Niel|1453427663|3979446 said:
Also, the goal of the prongs in the original seems to be to square off the stone. In yours, they seem to create little points that jutt out from the stone

Definitely. I'd ask about that.

Gypsy

Super_Ideal_Rock
Niel|1453427574|3979443 said: