shape
carat
color
clarity

Blancing diamond characteristics for brilliance

keithcz

Rough_Rock
Hi guys, diamond newbie here. I would love to get some advice from the helpful community here!

My girlfriend loves the look of a Bvlgari ring - thick and squarish edges. However their rings are way out of my budget. I've taken a look around James Allen and have selected a setting that I think quite closely approximates the ''feel" of a Bvlgari.

Setting here

What do you guys think?

Some diamonds that I have shortlisted:
Diamond 1
Diamond 2
Diamond 3
Diamond 4

I would appreciate it if you experts could chime in on the cut, the colour and clarity of the diamonds, and how to best balance these characteristics for maximum brilliance for the lowest price. My guess would be that it's more of an art than an exact science, but I would still be very interested in your opinions.

A million thanks in advance!

Keith

tyty333

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Can you show us which Bvlgari ring she likes?

MissGotRocks

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Out of the stones you posted, I would lean more toward 3. H, VS is a great combo as well. Can't really recommend any others as I don't know the price range of these four to compare to.

keithcz

Rough_Rock
tyty333|1459373873|4013348 said:

this is the one she likes!

MissGotRocks said:
Out of the stones you posted, I would lean more toward 3. H, VS is a great combo as well. Can't really recommend any others as I don't know the price range of these four to compare to.

Thanks for your input. :) Any comments on the cut of the diamonds?

ecf8503

Ideal_Rock
Premium
I see the last 3 are no available - I hope you have them on hold. The last one looks like some of the inclusions may be visible. Run the numbers through the HCA - you want a number under 2, but once under 2 lower is not better. Then ask for idealscope images on them.

keithcz

Rough_Rock
ecf8503 said: