shape
carat
color
clarity

black spot in diamond

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

bearkins

Rough_Rock
About 4 months ago, I noticed a "crack" in the right hand side of my diamond near the girdle. Loking at it closely there is no obvious damage on the surface of the stone, just in the inside. Yesterday, I noticed a black inclusion near the left hand side of the "crack". Has anyone any ideas on what this may be from?

The stone was bought loose and then set in a ring. I whacked the ring on a piece of iron (I work at a gym) and I''m thinking that perhaps I damaged it then or it was sold to my fiancee enhanced and no one told him about it.

Blueman33

Shiny_Rock
I am no expert.

Diamonds are very hard. While a very thin girdle might could get damaged, I would vote that the whack didn't damage the stone

Hest88

Ideal_Rock
Any of those scenarios is possible, or you could just be noticing the girdle reflection and your latest exertions just made a spot of dirt get stuck on your stone. I'd clean it thoroughly, scrubbing the spot with a soft toothbrush, and then if it's still there you can bring it back to the jeweler to inspect under magnification.

fancyrock

Brilliant_Rock
Anything is possible to damage a hard rock like diamond. But I told that if a diamond has been enhanced, on paper it has to state that to the buyer. It's illegal not to let the buyer know about the enhancement.

Take your stone to a diamond doctor and get a full physical exam.
9.gif