shape
carat
color
clarity

Black Diamonds

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

marialampinen

Rough_Rock
I am new to this site, but I must say i''ve learned alot already by reading the different forums and the from the colored gems page. I actually found this site by accident looking up on google for the shane co. and im glad I found it! Now to my question and predicament
I started looking today at a couple different places, Kay jewelers (where even I, a complete newby with stones knew he didnt know what he was doing), and to Fred Meyer Jewelers where my husband and I bought our sets. We weren''t concerened about quality as much as price, being young and having little income. Now, what I want to do is put a black diamond princess cut in my husbands wedding band for our anniversary this december. When I went to Kay jewelers they said his band would only fit a 1/40 carat diamond. I said ya right and walked out. When i went to FM Jewelers they said they could fit a 3mm cut, it would just be a matter of finding one. They were going to order a few stones if possible for me to look at, however I dont know what to look for!! I am somewhat educated now on what to look for in a colored or white diamond, however I would think a black diamond would have different rules, as they are black. I am looking for any links, any information, any advice on what to do, because like I said I have no idea what I''m looking for as far as quality and would love the advice.
Thanks for all your help!
35.gif

oldmancoyote

Brilliant_Rock
Bear in mind that black diamonds are basically industrial-grade stones that are sometimes irradiated to get a more uniformly black appearance. As such, they should cost very little, especially in smaller sizes ($200/ct or so). The workmanship in modifying the ring and setting the stone could be as much if not more.