shape
carat
color
clarity

Belais ring question

Taylorbug!

Brilliant_Rock
My 3 stone OEC is a Belais 18k. The shank is thin and the engraving is mostly worn due to the age. My dilemma is, should I leave it as is since it's a antique piece or send it to have the shank redone and the engraving touched up? Would that diminish the value of the piece?

Ally T

Ideal_Rock
Premium
I think if you are looking at keeping it forever, then make it good. Get it checked & have the engraving done. David Klass is your man for this I expect. If you are looking to sell at some point, then it might be worth keeping it fully original. I'm no expert in buying antique jewellery though, so perhaps @StephanieLynn or @foxinsox can chime in, as they buy lovely old rings & really know what appeals.

YadaYadaYada

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
The real question is will you be keeping it or are you looking to resell?

I was in the same situation with a ring recently where the shank was extremely thin. A reshank would mean I would lose the stamps on the inside which would greatly affect resale. I opted to have the diamond reset and keeping it for myself.

If you will keep it then it would probably be best to have it reshanked and the engraving redone. You will want someone experienced in antique jewelry restoration. If you were to resell it the best practice would be to disclose the thin shank and leave it up to the buyer then if you find that you get no bites you would have to figure out if the cost for restore would be worth what you could sell it for.

As far as affecting the value, a lot of buyers will appreciate a well restored ring because the alternative is a very fragile piece that could break and be lost. The key is a well done restoration with someone experienced.

foxinsox

Ideal_Rock
Premium
The real question is will you be keeping it or are you looking to resell?