shape
carat
color
clarity

asscher cut sapphires & emerald cut sapphires?

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

londonblue

Shiny_Rock
hi,

i''m not that new to this board, but this is my first time posting =)
right now i''m just researching.. my gf and i were wondering if there are Asscher cut sapphires? or even Royal Asscher cut sapphires? she likes the cut, but was looking for it on a sapphire. do they exist? i''ve yet to find one on the net.

also a friend of mine said that an emerald cut for a sapphire isn''t recommended as it''s more prone to fracturing? is that correct? i''ve yet to figure out the properties of different crystal systems.. so does that mean an Asscher style emerald cut should be avoided?

Thanks!

valeria101

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Look HERE

no idea what your friend means... just because the shape is popular enough for sapphire and has been around for ages. If this is what she likes, there is no inherent detraction to step cut sapphire that ever passed me by. It may take complicated science to figure out why these are considered so elegant and are less often cut than brilliant types, but you may as well start with the conclusion.
2.gif

There is more... down this LINK

chantal990

Shiny_Rock
I have never heard anything like that about Asscher and Emerald cuts in sapphires. I am currently on the hunt for an asscher cut sapphire but finding them a little hard to trabk down in a decent cut at a reasonable price.

Good luck with your search London Blue

londonblue

Shiny_Rock
thanks for the reponses!

I''ve read about cherrypicked, but never had chance to visit. Their sapphires are quite lovely, but I''m curious exactly how representative are the images, especially in terms of color and brilliance? I assume they''re magnified?

And I''ve yet to find an Asscher cut sapphire.. please point the way if you have any examples EmeraldGirl =)