shape
carat
color
clarity

Are they lying about H&A??

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

diamond_buyer_2004

Rough_Rock
I have been shopping for an H&A diamond for the last two months (at several vendors recommended by this sight), and most of their "certified H&A" diamonds that I have looked at either online or in person have made me a concerned buyer with regard to information on the site:

https://www.pricescope.com/hearts_grading_hearts.asp

This page states that if there are "more than 2 hearts split at more than 8% (at the cleft) then it will not make the grade True Hearts." However, I have studied the H&A images from several vendors using Photoshop and found that in many, if not most, cases diamonds being sold as true H&A''s did not live up to this standard. I will not name names as that is not the point of this thread, but WHAT GIVES?

begtets

Rough_Rock
by amazing coincidence i met a renowned european diamond dealer socially. (he had no idea i was in the market for diamonds). he said that H&A premiums were questionable. he said that diamonds were cut to H&A even to the deterement of the overall brillant cut of the diamond. if i understood him correctly he said that H&A were a company that marketed this cut and that it was just another fashion; there have been numerous cuts that have been all the rage of their time.

the part of this that interests me was that he believed many diamonds were cut into a H&A arrangement and that this was not always the best cut for the diamond.
he did say if you really like H&A then go for it but don't pay a premium over other very good / excellent cuts.

this of course could be crap, it is only an opinion but an interesting one for me anyway.

Bagpuss

Brilliant_Rock
----------------
On 2/18/2004 6:21:27 PM begtets wrote: