carat
color
clarity

Aqua help!

Elise_k

Rough_Rock
Hi everyone,

Disclaimer: I’m an aqua newbie!

I was hoping to get your thoughts on this aqua in terms of colour and price. Is the price on the higher side? It’s a little hard to get a good sense of what the pricing should be as aqua pricing seem to so much. Is it also too tall for a ring?

2.33 ct 9.3x7.5x6

Thanks!!

elizat

Ideal_Rock
Hi there, so with aquamarine, you are definitely going to find a lot of different pricing. So much of it depends upon what you like though. I will say I have a precision cut aquamarine from him and it is very nice. I probably will not ever wear it, but it is very nice. I don't think that his prices are astronomical at all for the quality of the cutting and the quality of the stone.

marymm

Ideal_Rock
Premium
Ditto what @elizat posted above re: Aquamarine pricing.

If the Aqua turns out as blue as it appears in the video, to me the price is reasonable for a precision-cut Aqua over 2 carats.

When you do have it hand, be sure to check out whether that crystal/inclusion at the bottom meetpoint is problematic at all (see if it is rough on your finger at that point, if the inclusion repeats/mirrors elsewhere in the stone, and/or if its presence otherwise bothers you)

1615663724601.jpeg

With its depth at 6mm, it will stand high off your finger in a ring setting -- only you can decide whether that is comfortable for you. I have a few rings with that kind of depth, and although I keep them and love them, I wear them rarely.

I wear very simple necklaces, when I do wear one. I know I wouldn't wear a CS necklace with a stone of this size.

YMMV.

T L

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
I saw that stone in my feed on Instagram yesterday. It’s very pretty! It stopped me in my tracks.

I think, aside from pricing, it’s good to know who you’re buying from because....

1) synthetic aqua looks very convincing as natural.
2) some natural stones are irradiated and fade in color.