shape
carat
color
clarity

Any lawyers here? I could use some advice

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

XChick03

Brilliant_Rock
I have a situation and even though I'm a first year law student, this is something I'm really unsure about.

My great-grandmother, who some of you have already heard about, has just been "banned" from her church. Her faith is one of the only things she has left to hold onto and going to church is something she really enjoys. My grandfather called last night and told me about this situation and asked me if it was even legal. The preacher of the church told her not to ever come back and the people who live next door used to give her rides to church since she's unable to drive but now they refuse. When my grandfather called the preacher to ask him why he'd say such a thing, he said she was too much of a "liability" because if she fell at the church the family could sue. For one, people like this are the exact reason I stopped attending church. Southern Batptists (and I apologize if any of you are, I mean no disrespect) have always seemed highly judgemental and hypocritical to me, but this just seems ridiculous even to me. How can a preacher of all people, be more concerned with money than with an old woman, who won't live many more years, hearing the word of God she loves so dearly?

On the legalities of it, for one, I think he's being utterly ridiculous in saying the family would even have grounds for a lawsuit if she fell and injured herself. That's like saying if I went to McDonald's and got a headache I could sue them. Secondly, isn't it illegal to tell someone they can't attend church? I'm not sure on this, but it seems like a discremination issue to me, because they are saying that based on her age and phsyical condition. Am I wrong in this? Any help is very appreciated.