shape
carat
color
clarity

An introduction, and a question please...

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

RH

Rough_Rock

I was hunting for info and found this site, looks like the spot. Please bear with the story, I am a real diamond rookie. I bought the teeny tiny (.30, maybe) engagement ring from the local jeweler, but we were young & broke and she was happy.

30.gif

Fast-forward 10 years, we''re older, still happy,...but 2 kids and a house later, still on a budget. A 3-stone ring was going to be expensive, so I went for a 5 stone (.50 total) platinum anniv. band from bluenile.com, because their website was less daunting than a trip to the jewelers. About $1k.

We then go on vacation to Jamaica for the anniversary, and ask the jeweler at the resort duty-free to appraise the ring. The stones are what I was told (S1, H) Based on the price, it seems like I may have slightly overpaid. No big deal.

Anyway, while browsing, my wife looks at a ring that she loves. A "3-stone", but they are not 3 stones. Each of the 3 is actually 5 or 6 smaller stones cut so they fit together to look like a larger round stone. Because each of the smaller stones is fully cut and faceted, the facets x 6 make it sparkle like crazy. She''s happy, because it sparkles to the point it looks almost fake, I''m happy because it''s more diamond weight at about 1/3-1/2 what I paid for the .50 5-stone.

Here''s my question...he called it an "illusion setting" but based on what I see on the web it''s not. What I see for "illusion setting" is white gold settings shaped to enhance the size of the single rock. I louped the ring, and it is definitely small stones pressed together in a prong setting, with no extraneous metal. What is this tecnique called, and how common is it?

(apologies for the length, and feel free to criticize what are probably two deadly sins - 1)buying online, and 2)buying at a Carribean resort.)

reena

Ideal_Rock