shape
carat
color
clarity

Advice needed!

JamesP

Rough_Rock
I am looking to buy a diamond for my girlfriend. After going to a few different stores, I think I have settled on one but want to make sure I am not making a mistake given the size of the investment and importance of this moment!

I have been looking at naturally grown, oval stones in the 2-2.5 carat range, D-H, and anything from VS1 to SI2 range.

The diamond I have settled on is here: http://pck.blob.core.windows.net/in...AD198&showMediaType=Video&mediaKey=QX99JES0BU

And here are some videos from the supplier:

The jeweller I’m buying it through assures me it is a great diamond but I would value an independent perspective to make sure. The price is $34k Australian which works out to around $22.7k USD.

Thanks in advance!

momofive

Brilliant_Rock
Hang in there. I'm not an expert, but I'm sure someone will be along shortly (although I've noticed the weekends can be slow sometimes.)

JamesP

Rough_Rock
Hang in there. I'm not an expert, but I'm sure someone will be along shortly (although I've noticed the weekends can be slow sometimes.)

Thanks very much! Do you have any non-expert opinions to share? :) I will take anything at this point! Hah

JamesP

Rough_Rock
Would really appreciate some advice if anyone can provide any! Thanks in advance

DejaWiz

Ideal_Rock
Hello and welcome to PriceScope, JamesP!

I see some slight bowtie effect, which is pretty typical for ovals and many other elongated cuts.

Not really seeing anything that would be of serious concerns, especially since this is an SI2...it's not cloudy and the inclusions are tucked away to be obscured/hidden extremely well!

The only other thing I can think of is to order an ASET scope from Mr Holloway himself (in Canterbury) if you want ultimate peace of mind.
Otherwise, if you are loving what your eyes and mind are seeing, then I think you've found an exceptional example of a clean SI2.

lambskin

Ideal_Rock
Premium