shape
carat
color
clarity

Advice needed on stones from GOG

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

geek_for_diamond

Rough_Rock

Hello everyone, this is my first post here, have studied on ps for 3 weeks. I appreciate your comments on this diamond:

1.126ct I VS2 Round H&A AGS000 $6026
Table 54.41% Depth 62.37%
Crown Angle: 34.63
Pavilion Angle: 40.82
Girdle: 2.16% Culet: None
The HCA score is 1.5.
The stone is from GOG ( http://www.goodoldgold.com/diamond/2693/ )
Last week I visited the store, 2 hours drive, not bad. Tim showed me the stone along with others, to be honest I can't tell the color difference from G to I against white background, but I'm a newbie for diamond. The inclusion although one in the center, is white and eye clean. I bought it on spot and now waiting for the Solasfera Solitaire setting I chose ( http://goodoldgold.com/setting/SF-LMJ00548/ ).

I'm still a little worry about the I color, especially when I see the thread that Harriet's I color stone was appraised to be K. At first I thought because of GOG's high reputation, an independent appraisal is probably not necessary, but now I'm not sure.

Since I can still change my mind easily right now, I wonder if I can do better within the price range of $6000-$7000. Here are other stones from GOG.

http://www.goodoldgold.com/diamond/2543/
1.037ct H VS2 Round H&A AGS000 $6774
Table 56.48% Depth 62.15%
Crown : 35.23
Pavilion : 40.82
Girdle: 2.12%
HCA score 2
http://www.goodoldgold.com/diamond/2549/
1.23ct I SI Round H&A Tolkowsky ideal cut, $6711
Table 56.79% Depth 61.38%
Crown : 34.5
Pavilion : 40.99
Girdle: 1.56%
HCA score 1.9
http://www.goodoldgold.com/diamond/2158/
1.09ct F SI1 Round H&A GIA cert, $7095
Table 55.34% Depth 61.52%
Crown : 34.6
Pavilion : 40.85
Girdle: 1.51%
HCA score 1.6

The stone I choose right now has the lowest price, is it worth spending extra $700-$1000 to get other alternatives? Thanks for your inputs.