shape
carat
color
clarity

Advice for a med student?

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

MakingTheGrade

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
I know some of the posters are in the medical field, so I thought I'd implore them for sagely advice and what their thoughts were on having a child during the last year of medical school (I'm currently in my 2nd year)? If there are any good resources for learning about what that experience would be like? I've already been in touch with the counseling and advising offices on my own campus, and am waiting to hear back from them to see if there's anyone I can talk to here about these things. I've skimmed mommd.com as well, but maybe I'm just not looking the right place since I couldn't find a lot of organized information on it.

My husband and I are in a good place financially, physically, and mentally. And we've been talking about when to have kids, and he's very understanding when it comes to the tough hours and lifestyle that goes along with the MD track. He's willing to wait until whatever time is easiest on me, but I have no clue about when that time actually is! I'm still in my early twenties, so there's no rush, but at the same time, I wouldn't want to delay it for the sake of delaying it.

I know it might be early to be researching these things, but I want to be as prepared and informed as possible before TTC, and give myself plenty of time to be comfortable with things (well, as comfortable as possible, there will always be a little part of me that's
32.gif
)

I'm also just beginning to research the logistical processes of pregnancy, like how to pick an OB, a hospital for delivery, insurance coverage, etc. So if anyone has any recommendations for good books or websites regarding these things, I am all ears! Thanks in advance!

ETA: I also go to a school where we do only 1.5 years of basic science, so I'll be done with core rotations in the middle of my 3rd year.