shape
carat
color
clarity

Advice: Buying a Rock with No Papers

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

maple

Rough_Rock
Hi guys,

Just need some advice on buying a diamond that does not have certification papers. As you can see, I am REALLY new to this.

Here''s the story...

I have been looking around for rocks and a reputable liquidator called me today saying that he has a nice 2 Carat, Round Cut, Dimaond that he just got, "of the street", as in it was consigned to him by an old customer. This place is not a pawn shop, but a liquidator. He offers it to me for $7800. I went in to look at it and it has no Certification papers. But, this dealer is a GIA certified gemologist himself, and he lets me compare to cut, color, clarity, and of course size with diamonds that are better (G, VS1 in 1.5C, Excellentx3), as well as worse (K, SI1, very good) and tells me that it is likely a 2 carat, J, SI2, very good. I have been looking at a decent amount of diamonds and can tell that there are some very small/faint inclusions (it looks better than others that have been called SI1 to me). The color is very faint (I can''t really tell the difference between H-J), and looks like H-J to me (although we were looking under plain flourescent lights not those fancy jewelry store lights.

The guy seems honest to me, and his dad has owned a reputable jewelry shop in the area for many decades. I do not doubt that it is an actual diamond (not CZ or synthetic), and I actually believe that he is giving it pretty accurate grades.
To my eyes, it looks pretty good, and it is way bigger than I thought I could afford!

My concern is the thought of buying it WITHOUT certification papers. I am just worried about buying a "Lemon".

The other catch is that he wants to move it quickly (and he tells me that Certification can take weeks). I have couple hundred dollar deposit holding it for me.