shape
carat
color
clarity

A New York Proposal

antonc12

Rough_Rock
First off, thanks to all who posted on other topics to help ease my mind with different issues. Your advice definitely helped me with my final decision.

I had been shopping for engagement rings for a few months with the intent to propose to my girlfriend of more than 2 years during our Christmas together. She had surprised me on our anniversary with a gift of a trip to New York (she had been as a kid but never as an adult and wanted to share the experience with me). Once I purchased and received my e-ring, I did not want to wait another month for December so I decided to propose on that trip. I had created a photo book of our pictures and a "boy meets girl" story about our relationship.

We had dinner on Saturday night at a lovely restaurant on Park Avenue. She had been calling me out for not being very conversational during dinner and that I wasn't finishing my meal. I tried to play it off that I wasn't feeling well because I couldn't tell her how nervous I was. After dinner, I had a surprise horse drawn carriage ride in Central Park planned. She loved it and simply thought I was doing something romantic.

10 minutes into our 45-minute ride, I handed her the photo book wrapped up as a gift to "commemorate our time together" and held a flashlight so she could read it. By this time, the temps were down to about 30 degrees and I was shivering from both cold and nerves. She came to the page where I said, "With the blessing of family, there was one thing left to ask.." That was my cue to take a knee in the small space that the carriage allowed.

She said, "yes" and the last 20 minutes of the ride were just a complete blur of happy tears and loving kisses in the quiet of the park.

Here is a picture of the page she turned to as I was on a knee:

Here is another picture of the ring on her hand and the details below:

Diamond:
Shape: Round Brilliant GIA Cert
Carat: 1.22ct
Color: G
Cut: Very Good