shape
carat
color
clarity

A Chip or

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

londonblue

Shiny_Rock
edit: title should be - A Chip or "Natural" in Sapphire? what to do?
but i guess the board doesn't like my quotes

hello, i've been posting my sapphires in a different thread but the other day i noticed what i thought was a chip in the primary sapphire candidate. i was initially completely mortified and horrified, but was reassured that it is probably a 'natural' in the stone. i've looked at it and looked at it but i'm no gem expert so i was wondering if i could get some input from memebers of this forum.

all the clues seem to make sense, the chip or natural is located between facets, right under the girdle, i've tried and tried but haven't managed to see it in the face of the stone, even w/ my 10x loupe. the stone is at 1.14cts so it's just over the 1 ct mark, so it makes sense to conserve the ct weight of the gem. the mark is completely unnoticable unless you know it's there or you are examining the stone with a direct light source as i was w/ a desk lamp armed with a 100 watt bulb.

i was louping the stone as i thought i noticed some miniscule scratches in the facets that seemed to disappear at certain angles - i now think i'm looking at minute inclusions and other intersting elements inside the stone, possibly just under the facet surfaces. anyway, that is when i came across what i believed was a chip near the onr corner of the gem. it's visible to the naked eye, but you just have to know where to look at tilt it to a light source at the right angle.

i don't mind it at all, as the stone is still extremely beautiful, but i am just worried about durability and if it is a chip, possibly affecting the value of the gem. i plan to have the stone bezel set in a halo so i'm sure it'll be well protected, but just in case.. i'm hoping to know about any potential downsides in advance.