shape
carat
color
clarity

7.5mm AAA or 8mm premium Mikimoto necklace?

love_pearls

Shiny_Rock
I have just received my Mikimoto ear studs in 9mm AAA. I also tried on the 7.5mm AAA necklace and 8mm premium necklace. They are at the similar price point. I do want necklace in AAA grade but I am just being stopped by the price point of the 8mm AAA.

It seems like bigger size pearl necklace is worth keeping as it feels like it might not be easy to come by. But I can only afford and willing to afford 8mm premium price point. As premium 8mm and 7.5 mm AAA are at similar price point. Should I focus on grades and compromise on size thus get the 7.5mm AAA or get the harder to get size--8mm premium?

yssie

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
My understanding - from both what I’ve been told directly and what I’ve chosen to infer indirectly, but I’m not a professional or tradeperson! - is that availability doesn’t decrease linearly with increasing size. It’s more like… There isn’t much of a problem until suddenly there is, andavailability” kind of falls off a cliff. My mental set point for that cliff is 9mm.

And then when one adds quality questions - Mikimoto’s Premium, those are still very nice pearls!! But I think availability decreases with quality similar to with size - there isn’t too much of a problem until there is and “availability” falls off another cliff!!

So your earrings, 9mm+, those are off the cliff in terms of both size and quality. No question that those are RARE pearls, and a good match is even more special. I’m so glad you jumped on them when you did. The size that I bought last year is no longer even offered in the US.

For your necklace, are you still thinking one Mikimoto strand and one VCA ten motif? For the Mikimoto strand - one long strand that you double up sometimes, or an actual double strand?