shape
carat
color
clarity

Help a newbie out with a blue sapphire purchase :)

airplay355

Shiny_Rock
Hey guys,

I'm new to jewelry, the gem world and this forum so bare with me! I've been looking for a blue sapphire for an engagement ring for a few weeks now and I just bought this one http://www.litnon.com/viewgem.php?gemid=8504&id=39645 I can't find the page with the details of the stone anymore because it was removed when I bought the stone but it's 8 x 6 x 5, slight inclusions, and was $215 + $11 shipping. I know it's not the most expensive sapphire out there but price is a pretty big concern for me.

What I'm most worried about is buying a crappy stone and overpaying. This stone looks great to me even though it's not the optimal blue color but I want to know what you guys think. I've gone through a few threads and I've noticed everyone here can instantly find flaws and other things to look for that I never would have noticed on my own. Anyone think I made a terrible decision?

Thanks for your help! If you have any other advice for me I'd gladly listen!

Ryan

GregS

Brilliant_Rock
It's showing quite a bit of extinction in the photos. Are you ok with that? The stone is likely going to be dark indoors. Although considering the size to price ratio I think you did good. Top right http://www.spectralgems.net/A-corundum.html, if that doesn't do it for it might be worth contacting Mr. Dery. He is very helpful.

airplay355

Shiny_Rock
Thanks for the reply! I'm not sure what extinction is. Could you explain it and maybe reference an area of the stone so I know what to look for?

She said she wanted a darker stone, so that's why I chose the color. I guess I'll have to see how dark it looks indoors. I don't want it to look like a lump of coal if there isn't an LED shinning on it :)

airplay355

Shiny_Rock
So those black areas are always black? I thought that was just a function of how light was hitting the stone.

minousbijoux

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium