shape
carat
color
clarity

when you give money as a gift...

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

charbie

Ideal_Rock
Do you expect to get the same amount back at your own wedding in the future to the couple you gave it to? Be honest! FI''s cousin who isn''t coming to the wedding sent a pretty fat check. More than we typically would give. His own wedding is next year. foes this mean we give the same amount?

I''m half joking.

Maisie

Super_Ideal_Rock
I don''t give to receive. If you are panicking about having to give the same amount back maybe you shouldn''t accept. I am sure they won''t expect you to match their generous gift though.
1.gif

Bjedifish

Shiny_Rock
Trade
I agree with Maisie, I would never "expect" someone to give me a big check just because I did. I always try to cover my plate, whatever that may be. But who knows I am probably "under" giving since I am a cash strapped teacher!

hawaiianorangetree

Ideal_Rock
FI and i went to a wedding last year and gave $100 ($50 each) towards their ''plasma fund'' we were going on a holiday the next day to Bali so we couldn''t really afford too much more and we met up with the couple on their honeymoon. The couple were very thankful for our gift and suprised that we gave so much since we were going on holiday etc, i would only hazzard a guess to what others gave if ours was a large gift! Anyhoo, for our wedding next year i wont be expecting them to give the same as we gave, partly because they thought ours was very generous and partly because our wedding is in the back yard!
1.gif

D&T

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium