shape
carat
color
clarity

What will you teach your children about religion if you don''''t have one?

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

treysar

Brilliant_Rock
My fiancé and I were both born Catholic, but neither of us go to church, or believe in the church’s teachings. While both of us are very spiritual, we do not identify with any specific faith. We met with our minister the other day, and she was asking us about what we will teach our children about religion, and she brought up a great point: Children that are not born with a religion have nothing to identify with or rebel against. Example – I came to my religious beliefs because I studied Catholicism and decided I did not believe in the teachings of the bible. But that’s because I was brought up learning about it, and in my journey of finding myself I decided to look elsewhere. But if a kid has no starting point or springboard, where do they go to learn about religion and spirituality? How are you all handling this?

jenwill

Brilliant_Rock
Well, I am not a parent to be at this point so I cannot give advice from that point of view, but I am a child of non-religious parents. I was brought up with absolutely no religious education from my parents- my mother who had been loosely brought up a methodist, and my step-dad who was brougth up baptist but went to catholic high school on athletic scholarship. They both decided that the rules and regulations of an organized religion weren't for them, so proceeded to leave both of their respective faiths. Add into it that they were a mixed race couple (balck and white), living together unmarried in the mid 70's and there weren't places that were that accepting of them to begin with.