shape
carat
color
clarity

Textbooks on Amazon.com?

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

goldenstar

Brilliant_Rock
I need to buy a book for a post grad class that I''m taking and this book costs $260 at the school''s bookstore. There are no used versions on half.com-- which is where I usually buy my books (if possible).

Amazon has a few dealers that are selling NEW copies for around $200. Are such dealers trustworthy? I''m afraid to spend the money and then get the wrong book, or a cruddy copy of the book. Its a good chunk of change so I want to be careful. Half.com has been very good but I have zero experience with Amazon.

Are there any students out there that buy textbooks on Amazon? It is safe?

anyname

Shiny_Rock
I''ve bought some of my grad school books on Amazon and I haven''t had any problems with them. Although, when i tried to by the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual IV it turned to be photocopied, which is actually amazing considering how thick that book is. But i got my money back and got to keep the book.

choyoyo

Rough_Rock
Sometimes vendors will sell textbook versions that are not supposed to be sold in the US (like, no CD, soft cover) that were meant to be sold to European customers/overseas etc. Those tend to be less expensive, but are still legitimate copies with the same material inside (minus frills like the CD/DVDs)

Rhea

Ideal_Rock
Premium
I''ve bought textbooks from amazon, half, and ebay without any issues. I''d check the ISBN to make sure that it''s the right book and pay with a credit card so that you a way to fight if the wrong book is sent.

diamondseeker2006

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium