carat
color
clarity

Tell us your household tips

kenny

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
This one is "Save on Plumbing Bills".

Before bedtime pour a quart of bleach down each drain.
Cover the drain with plastic wrap if you don't want the bleach smell.
When you wake up pour a huge pot of boiling water down each drain.

Do this every other month or so or when you notice a drain is slow.
Works like a champ.

What are your household tips?

janinegirly

Ideal_Rock
Novice here, so nothing to add, but I would LOVE to hear of ways to keep on top of dust..you know those annoying dust balls that form in corners and on wood tables. I do try to sweep, clean, dust--but they come back so fast!

Is there something that can assist with staying on top of it (other than a maid ;)).

packrat

Super_Ideal_Rock
I had our ducts/vents cleaned once and thought it was THE best thing ever. If I could afford to do it every year I would. I seriously did not see dust in the house for months.

elrohwen

Ideal_Rock
Oo, that's a good tip about the drains. I usually buy a bottle of draino, but bleach is easier because we always have it on hand. Didn't know it would work just as well.

I use white vinegar mixed with water (50/50) for cleaning up pet accidents. It's safe for animals if they lick it up and neutralizes pee smell. It does smell vinegary for a second, but that dissipates quickly.

Cider vinegar left out in a glass is good for trapping fruit flies. They'll congregate on the inside of the glass, then I cover it with plastic wrap and shake the vinegar to trap them. And some fly right into the vinegar on their own.

I use the vacuum hose attachment to get pet hair off the wood floors and to dust furniture. It doesn't dust quite as well as a cloth, but does a good enough job that I only have to dust half as often and it's a lot faster. It's great for getting tumbleweeds of pet hair and dust without having to move furniture and things. Just sucks it right up.

kenny

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium