shape
carat
color
clarity

Our vacation and Career advice

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

pinkflamingo

Brilliant_Rock
Hi everyone-

I am back after a long "vacation." Relaxing, it was not, but fun, yes. We flew from our home in Tampa to Boston where we spent a week with Dh's parents. We traveled to Williamstown to visit my grandparents, and then to Essex and Niantic, CT. It was so gorgeous. We hopped back on the plane to Seattle, where we visited with my parents for a week, traveled around the area. It was lovely- but exhausting. We are so going to Key West next summer.

It was kind of frustrating because I am now 28 and have been teaching public school for 4 years. I have a Bachelor's and Master's degree in Music- I am an accomplished violinist and violist and have played all over the world. I studied at Juilliard when I was a child and have won all sorts of competitions. (blushes a little). I was planning to play in a professional major orchestra as a profession but have found it nearly impossible and not what I want to do at all, with so many musicians being laid off and orchestras in the red.

I decided to teach public school to pay our bills, (btw DH is in the same situation as well ---violinist-teacher) We live pretty decently in Tampa, we own our own house, and are reasonably happy. I don't like teaching at all, and the salary is so tiny. I need to figure out a career. I went to Rice, and have a good GPA.

I am considering law school, but the only law school in town is Stetson, which is a third tier school.
7.gif
this worries me a little. I would need to stay in Tampa for school. I wish I could put my music degree to a good use, but it is barely worth the sheepskin it is printed on. Anyone enjoy their job and make good money?