shape
carat
color
clarity

Kitchen flooring?

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

isaku5

Ideal_Rock
Last year we decided that the family home needed an update suitable for the two of us now, but also looking ahead to selling and moving to smaller accommodations.

Last year (2007) we had a complete reno done on the upstairs bath. DH is a plumber by trade and so did all the plumbing/ wiring etc. He and I did the gutting of the room to the bare walls. It took seven weeks to finish (lazy tile setter), but the finished product is great. All four bedroom were freshly painted and new window coverings and bedspreads/ duvets purchased. Almost complete.

Now we are pricing out various options for the downstairs rooms -living room, dining/computer room/ kitchen/ powder room and familly room. We realized up front that we were not going to do any major structural changes; instead, we''ll focus on up-dating. Our appliances are ancient ( still have first fridge we bought almost 45 years ago) so have to be replaced. That''s fine - lots of options. Now comes the hard part (for me) replacing the vinyl sheet flooring in the litchen and the horrible ceramic in the foyer and front hall. We don''t want hugely expensive flooring at all so decided to price out hardwood, engineered hardwood, laminate
4.gif
, new ceramic and a synthetic product called Congoleum ( a little granite iand other synthetics) in a 15" square tile. The advantages of this according to the literature is that it''s not as hard as ceramic so easy on the back, looks somewhat like cermic mixed with vinyl and comes either to be grouted or glued to the floor (no grout lines to get dirty with the latter).