shape
carat
color
clarity

Home Bird Control

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

verticalhorizon

Brilliant_Rock
Does anyone have any suggestions for humane ways for bird control around your deck or patio?

I found this product by Bird-X, but it seems expensive. $100 for a gallon.

It seems my small apartment patio is a haven for birds, clearly evident by their gifts they leave behind. The rafters above are open leaving them plenty of room to roost. I gotta get rid of them!

Thanks.

JCJD

Brilliant_Rock
Hi VH! Do you happen to know what kind of birds they are? European starlings? Grackles? Crows? Pigeons? Sparrows? Also, do you live in a city or town, or out in the country (outside city limits)? What area of the country?

Thanks in advance for the info! I'm studying animal behavior in graduate school right now, so hopefully I can come up with some environmental modifications that will help.
JCJD

JCJD

Brilliant_Rock
Oops! Should have read more carefully.

So, you're in an apartment, in a building with open rafters. Any way you can convince your landlord to close them up? There are tons of citations that you can find on the web about bird-borne illnesses if you can't convince them otherwise...

Mylar streamers might be a good deterrent for roosting birds - the streamers rustle in the wind and will touch the birds while they're trying to sleep, encouraging them to find a new roost. And streamers can double as party decoration!

If your city simply has a large population of these birds, they probably will have to move pretty far from your patio to find an open spot, so they might resist moving for a while. Let me know the other information I asked about previously, and I'll try to think of some more solutions.

JCJD
1.gif

verticalhorizon

Brilliant_Rock