shape
carat
color
clarity

Hi I''m very new to this

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

jessica_brooke

Rough_Rock
Hi everyone. My name is Jessica and my boyfriend and I have been together just over 5 years. (I'm 22 and he is 23). He is graduating in May with his masters in finance, and I am in my first year of law school in CA. We currently live in the same city, and plan to move in together this fall (staying in CA). We've talked about our future a lot, but recently he has made a few casual references to e-rings. He's asked me about my ring size (which I think I know but I'm not sure - I don't currently wear any rings) and also what kind of ring I wanted/expected (but again, very casually). I was kind of thrown off guard, and as I'm not the kind of girl who has had her e-ring picked out since birth, I basically said I had no idea.. and suggested possibly browsing/ring shopping together? (He does know I don't like yellow gold, but that's pretty much all I know at this point). However, he didn't seem that enthusiastic about ring-shopping with me, and I got the impression he wants it to be more of a surprise.

At that point I started looking online at websites like Shane Co and Blue Nile and even google and ebay to get some ideas, and I still don't even know what I would like! Some days I was thinking cushion or radiant, other days a RB. At first I thought I preferred a halo band, then baguettes, and now I'm thinking a classic solitaire. (Clearly I don't know!) I'm pretty sure I wouldn't want a princess, marquise, or heart shaped diamond, but I also dont want to get set on one particular design and then have him get me something else. Honestly, I'd be thrilled with anything he gets me as long as it isnt totally hideous. (I'd still say yes, but maybe an exchange would be in order).