shape
carat
color
clarity

Help me decide if I should get a Holiday job

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

goldenstar

Brilliant_Rock
I am a law student with one semester left. I am trying to decide whether I should get a seasonal retail position during my winter break. I''d be able to work about 6 weeks or so. I already have an interview at a high end store in a really fancy area. I was thinking that it would be a great way to make a little money since I would probably just be sitting around at home during my time off from school. It would not be full time, but definitely on weekends since that''s when they''re busiest. For some reason I''m really struggling with the decision--I''m doing a cost benefit analysis. Here are my pros and cons

Pros:
-Extra cash for the holidays, or to pay for books et al. next semester
-Employee discount
-It would keep me busy so I wouldn''t get bored
-The store keeps everything in display cases-- this equates to less clean up (I''ve worked with clothing before and it''s an ordeal)
-The store closes earlier than other stores around it-- this means that I would never have to work very late
-Part Time hours-- I''d still have a little time for myself

Cons:
-Would have to work weekends, might affect family time
-Would probably have to work during the day on Dec. 24, 26, and New Year''s Eve
-a 30-35 minute commute, I also have to pay toll to cross a bridge.
-Maybe I should be spending my free time doing things that will advance my future career, e.g. studying, looking for internships for the Spring etc.