shape
carat
color
clarity

Help Choosing a GIA Report

GimmeSomeSugarBakes

Rough_Rock
Hello, rather clueless newbie here.

My mom passed away almost a year ago, and I am just beginning to thaw enough to want explore the diamond she left behind. While the diamond was treasured, there is no paper trail, aside from an appraisal which describes it as "a circular-cut diamond gauged at approximately 2.00+ cts." Very helpful! :lol: The appraisal is dated 2003, from Bonhams & Butterfields.

(An aside - the history, as I know it: many years ago, my mom was gifted with the diamond from a very dear friend, who had a stunning collection, and who was much older than she. The diamond likely dates back to the 1930's or earlier; it was originally housed in a large, platinum dinner ring.)

I am interested in acquiring a GIA report and have created a client account. My question, after reading the various GIA report descriptions, is: which report should I obtain? I am certainly after information re: the diamond, beyond a current appraisal. Selling the diamond, someday, is unlikely but not completely out of the realm of possibility. So, having a report that a potential buyer may want is a consideration.

Thank you in advance for any guidance. I really appreciate it!

denverappraiser

Ideal_Rock
Trade
It has a lot to do with why you want it.