shape
carat
color
clarity

Engagement disaster!

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

blodthecat

Brilliant_Rock
Hi Guys,

Tell me what you think about this.

My cousin Steve has been with his girlfriend for about 2.5-years. They have talked about getting engaged and saving a deposit for a house etc.

A few weeks ago, Steve said he had thought about giving Helen his mothers engagement ring (his mother died 5-years ago). He showed me the ring, which was a platinum solitaire, set with 3 small diamonds on either side of the shank. The stone is approximately .50ct

I am not a expert, but i got my loop out for a closer look. It really is a very clean and well cut diamond. A real eye catcher. I told Steve that I thought the ring was really, really beautiful. And if it was me, I would love to have it as an engagement ring.

I suggested he took it to a jeweller to have the setting checked, cleaned and the platinum shank polished. The next time I saw Steve was last Saturday. He had the ring with him, which was absolutely gleaming. He had also purchased one of those vintage boxes for it. The plan was they were going out for a romatic meal, and he planned to give her the ring.

I was so upset when Steve phoned on Sunday morning and said that Helen had turned him down. The reason she gave was that she didn''t feel it was the right time. Apparently, she didn''t even take the ring out of the box for a look.

Steve was really upset...but what made it worse was the phone call he got on Sunday morning, saying she was so upset that he had presented her with his mothers ring....and that the whole proposal had been spoilt!

I wish i had kept my mouth shut now, and not given my opinion. If I was presented with a cherished family ring, which was absolutely beautiful, It would have really meant something to me. I don''t think I would have been offended or thought that Steve was just trying to go cheap on me!