shape
carat
color
clarity

Daycare near work or near home?

stephbolt

Brilliant_Rock
DH and I are expecting our first in June, and are starting to look for daycares. We are trying to figure out if we want to find a daycare near our home or near one of our works (most likely mine as my hours are more fixed). We work in opposite directions, both with a commute of anywhere from 30 min - 1 hr based on traffic. We were leaning toward one decision, but after a coworker just strongly recommended the other, I'm curious to hear what has worked well for other parents who have BTDT. So what did you choose and why?

Echidna

Brilliant_Rock
I have no personal experience here but when my good friend went through this process, she and her husband chose a centre close to home. That way, the child was easily accessible to both parents and she could use daycare on days she didn't need to be in the office (we have flexible hours). The centre she chose was literally down the road on the corner though, so she could walk if she needed to.

amc80

Ideal_Rock
I think it makes more sense to have the kid close to home. What if you're sick one day and don't go to work, but still want the baby to go to daycare (so you can actually sleep)? Or if you have to work late, later than the daycare stays open?

NewEnglandLady

Ideal_Rock
We chose a childcare option that was closer to home for the following reasons:

1. D and I will have an alternating schedule of who drops off/picks up (likely I'll drop off and he'll pick up), so it was important that the location be convenient for both of us.

2. I'm hoping that I can work from home one day per week long-term. Realistically, I don't think I can watch the baby and still work a full day, so she'll likely still be in daycare on that day. Having childcare close to home makes it easier for me.