shape
carat
color
clarity

Comparing Prices - Pearl Paradise vs. Takahashi

Moonie

Shiny_Rock
Hello lovely ladies,

I am just getting into pearls and would love to purchase a pear of 8-8.5 Akoya studs for my wedding in May. Pricescope helped me find my OEC, so I thought it would be just as helpful with pearls. I've already learned so much about pearls and vendors, and wanted to better understand my options.

I reached out to Takahashi after reading rave reviews here and got some pictures back (they are so so nice!), but it is a tad more expensive than I was hoping to spend. I also have an appointment with Pearl Paradise tomorrow and from what I can see on their site, the price looks to be roughly half for Pearl Paradise.

My question is, do people think double the price for Takahashi's pearls (Hanadama quality Akoya) is worth the quality? Or should I try Pearl Paradise and spend less? The price isn't untenable for Takahashi but would be grateful for people's thoughts! Paging @yssie since I know she's the Pearl Queen!

Many thanks in advance for your expertise!

yssie

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Takahashi is twice as much as Pearl Paradise?

Can you link to whatever you’re looking at on PP? And are you wanting PSL certified pearls from Takahashi?

Moonie

Shiny_Rock
Takahashi is twice as much as Pearl Paradise?

Can you link to whatever you’re looking at on PP? And are you wanting PSL certified pearls from Takahashi?

Hi Yssie!

Yes of course - https://www.pearlparadise.com/colle...s/80-85-mm-white-hanadama-pearl-stud-earrings

I'm sorry, I'm not entirely sure what PSL certified pearls are, but I believe Yy mentioned some are not certified. I requested ones with great lustre and a pinkish tone. The first ones she recommended were actually even more, but I said it would be lovely to find some closer to my price range, and they look great as well. Perhaps I didn't put in the right request?

MakingTheGrade

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium