shape
carat
color
clarity

Camera Assistance - Canon Macro Lens?

TristanC

Brilliant_Rock
Hi people, I have just decided to get a Canon Macro Lens, and would like to know what is a good option for cheap?

Well, doesn't need to be cheap, but need not be brand spanking new either.

I'm hoping to check some hobby forums for second hand lenses (any heads up if I do this?)

Why I'm asking here is because I want to keep it simple. Knowing myself if I enter forums to do self research, I'll end up with a lens kit bag.

All I want is a Macro lens.

Oh, and a flash too.

Colltee

Rough_Rock
I'd opt for the 100mm f/2.8 or if you want to splurge a little more and get better quality - go for the same lens in the L Series range.
I'm a pro. photographer but only work in natural light, I use a variety of cameras - mainly Canon and Hasselblads - I have a speedlight 580EX II which I rarely use, when I do I find it so-so. What level of photography are you at? I'm guessing a 480 EX II would probably be a good choice for you.

kenny

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Here is Canon's current line up of macro lenses: http://usa.canon.com/cusa/professional/products/professional_cameras/ef_lens_lineup/lens_macro_pro
Apparently the 50 mm is not a true macro lens if it needs a converter to get to 1:1. :knockout:

Beware of buying a lens you will out grow tomorrow, in order to save some money today.
It will cost you more in the long run, and don't ask me how I know this. :oops:
I'd definitely get a used lens if you can trust the seller and ensure the lens is okay.

IMHO USED macro lenses are particularly smart purchases becuase for good macro work you should be on a tripod and focusing manually.
This means you don't need two prominent high tech features of expensive NEW lenses, automatic focus and image stabilization.

They are more expensive but get the longest focal length you can.
IOW, a 180mm is more desirable than a 100mm, which is more desirable than a 60mm.