shape
carat
color
clarity

Calling all graduate students!!!

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

trillionaire

Ideal_Rock
I need your help!

I''m hopefully going back to school next month to finish my graduate degree... (long haul... damn PhD...)

I was a terrible student when I went, I didn''t know how to balance my schedule, how much work to get done on a daily/weekly basis, etc. This lead me to be anxious and avoid being around my department, then I was isolated and depressed, yadda yadda yadda, cue violins...
9.gif

So, please tell me, how much time do you put in? how do you tackle writing so that you are not scrambling at the end of the semester? How can I be an obnoxiously brilliant and erudite scholar? Lol! How do you stay immersed in interested in your work? how do you go about choosing your research topics? Tell me any and everything, or any advice at all!

Help me make this an approachable task, I need mentors and guidance, lol!

princessplease

Ideal_Rock
I go to grad school two nights a week, and work F/T during the day.

I usually get to school an hour before classes start, and spend that time reading in the library.

I ALWAYS buy a planner, as I am very organized, and I will write down everything that is due when I get the syllabus. I also put any important dates into my phone and set reminders for when to study/write/read/etc.

As far as papers go, I try and get all of my research done in one bunch, then my highlighting/extracting important information and organizing those notes in one bunch, then writing the paper at the end. I find it easier to break writing up into those kind of sections. I then will do X pages/day of the paper so I''m not writing it all in one huge lump sum 1 week before the semester is up, lol.