shape
carat
color
clarity

Looking for a 2ct+ spessartite garnet in a pear shape

nararabbit

Shiny_Rock
Hi all!

I am a big orange lover (in fact, I had an orange/yellow wedding :) and I'd like to find a well-cut, pear shaped spess in a juicy orange color. I'd rather it fall more on the yellow/red side of the spectrum than brown if possible. 2ct+, I am asking you guys because I am a novice to gem buying and have a hard time looking at cuts with the eagle eyes that some of you have! Have you seen any? I found a ton on ebay but I've no idea how to tell what's real, and what's the color I want, rather than waiting 3 weeks to get some ugly brown thing.

Can anyone help me? Thanks so much!

movie zombie

Super_Ideal_Rock
the best of spess is not cheap. i personally would not buy off eBay, especially if this is a special ring for you. there are others that might. judging a stone by pictures is almost impossible. at most it will let you know if you're interested enough in having it sent to you.

spess is a particular fav of mine. i've seen windowed spess for $2500 in about the 4-5 carat range. i'd encourage you to see as many as you can and avoid eBay, especially as you want to avoid brown and want more yellow than red.

Mo-Zo

ps the spess in my avatar is 8.18 carats.

Nashville

Brilliant_Rock
Someone on PS had an engagement ring that I think was a spess... and it was insanely cool. It looked like fire. I wish I could find it and direct you there, because it had some good information.

Jim Rentfrow

Shiny_Rock
Trade
There are still some rough suppliers who have larger rough spessartite around. You might be able to contact one of the custom cutters from this forum and arrange for them to cut a piece for you.

chrono

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium