shape
carat
color
clarity

0.7ctw 18k YG and Platinum Five-Stone Band, size 4.75-5

newtojewels

Shiny_Rock
This is my first time on this end of Preloved! Hopefully I'm doing everything correctly.

Loupetroop link: https://loupetroop.com/listings/ban...-cut-18k-yg-and-platinum-band-size-4-dot-75-5

I'm visiting my mother who has decided to sell her old wedding band. This was custom-made in 1989 by Robert Limon in Bethesda, Maryland who was hired by the Smithsonian to work on the Hope Diamond and was an early proponent of ideal cuts who helped develop cut guidelines for AGS. The stones are ungraded but Cliff, Robert's grandson, found the original sales receipt in his records (shocking since it's been 35 years!). It states that the ring has five 0.14ct stones for a total of 0.7 ctw in 18 karat yellow gold with platinum just surrounding the stones. I have a photo of the receipt that I can send to people who are interested! Cliff said the ring was in "great shape" today when my mom brought it in to ask about a reset but we decided to first see if anyone wanted to buy it as a complete piece.

It's a solid ring and weighs 7 grams on a postal scale that unfortunately doesn't get more precise. The stones are very sparkly and appear whiter than my GIA-graded G and H transitional diamonds when I compared them on my last visit, but unfortunately I didn't bring them to compare on this trip. The original sales receipt says it's a size 5 but it fit more like a 4.75 on Cliff's mandrel due to the width, which is 7.1mm at the top and 2.6mm at the shank as measured by electronic calipers. The photo below is on my size 4.5-ish pinky.

We're asking $1300 shipped in the US. Please let me know if you have any questions and thanks for looking!

Robert Limon's history really interesting, so here's the link!

And here are a few quotes: