shape
carat
color
clarity

My 5.01ct GIA L VS1 Round Brilliant Diamond

Tourmaline

Ideal_Rock
Trade
Hi, everyone! I've been consulting threads on here for a few months, during my diamond quest, though I just joined. My husband of 10 years stunned me with his declaration that he wanted to buy me a 5ct diamond. In my quest to find the right stone, not much was coming up in the ideal cut/high color/high clarity range that cost less than, say, a house. I chose the parts that were really important to me. High color was not (I loved the thread on here about low color diamonds, because I have always loved warm diamonds). Clarity was super important to me, because I have eagle eyes, and I can see flaws in VS2 and below without magnification. I do like uniqueness, though, and I was willing to compromise on cut (I like the irregular character of antique diamonds). A sunny, beautifully unique diamond finally presented itself, and I adore it! It's the one in my profile picture. We just bought it a few weeks ago, and I am wearing it in a bag around my neck because I don't want to be without it while a ring is made! It's GIA certified, L color, VS1 clarity (would be VVS1 if not for two tiny naturals on the outside of the pavilion, near the girdle...I am into natural crystals, and those tiny cavities show beautiful crystal formation under magnification but are not visible from the top). The crown angle is a bit less than ideal (though the table size is pretty perfect), which means that the optimal viewing angle (with maximum brightness) is a bit tilted from head-on, which doesn't bother me. The stone is 11.5mm in diameter. I am thrilled with the diamond and can't wait to wear it! I am having a ring made from platinum, with tiny diamonds on the shank and rounded edges, and tiny diamonds all around the basket setting and 6 prongs, diamonds not visible from the top. So exciting!!!

diamond-on-crystal-forum.jpg

diamond-outside-fingers.jpg

m-2-b

Ideal_Rock
Premium