shape
carat
color
clarity

Forger

VapidLapid

Ideal_Rock
First of all I am not a trained professional, so don''t try this at work. So I have lots of silver bullion. It is not already in the thicknesses or forms that are most conducive to making jewelry items. However with metals prices going nutso I am loathe to buy even more just to have a 6 ga. wire to start off with. So I spent a few moments looking at a drawing of the final shape and dimensions I wanted and the profile of a .999 fine silver coin to plan a path of transformations from one to the other in the fewest steps. I knew there would need to be many annealings, for unlike clay metal hardens as it is worked. I have found that it really can be moved around much like clay, and a piece the size of a ring only takes a minute to anneal. I am not finished with this project by a long shot. I thought some of you would be interested in seeing this process, while others may enjoy a good laugh at my foolishness. Still others might do both.

As I said It is only half done at best. I have not begun the forging of the setting itself, though I do have a plan for that. The end result should will be a 999fine Silver Ring with Asscher Grossular Garnet

AgCutPattern.jpg

VapidLapid

Ideal_Rock

Agcut.jpg

VapidLapid

Ideal_Rock

AgSlit.jpg

VapidLapid

Ideal_Rock

firsttransformOpen.jpg

VapidLapid

Ideal_Rock

Ag1stanneal.jpg

VapidLapid

Ideal_Rock

Ag2ndtransform.jpg

VapidLapid

Ideal_Rock

Ag3rdTransform.jpg

VapidLapid

Ideal_Rock

Ag4thTransform.jpg

VapidLapid

Ideal_Rock

Ag5thTransform.jpg

VapidLapid

Ideal_Rock

Ag6thTransform.jpg

VapidLapid

Ideal_Rock

Ag7thTransform.jpg

VapidLapid

Ideal_Rock

Ag8thTransform.jpg

VapidLapid

Ideal_Rock

Ag9thTransform.jpg

VapidLapid

Ideal_Rock

Ag10thTransform.jpg

VapidLapid

Ideal_Rock
And that is as far as I''ve gotten.

AgGrossulookie.jpg

artdecogirl

Brilliant_Rock