shape
carat
color
clarity

What kind of ring is durable for you?

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

Mr. Legato

Rough_Rock
Hi, im a newbie here in PS... i would like to know if you guys could help me out find a right setting for a half carat that will last long. Thank you so much.

jjdav

Shiny_Rock
Hi, you might want to post your question in the Rocky Talk section coz that''s where all the diamond experts usually hang out.
5.gif

MisterG

Rough_Rock
platinum is by far the most durable metal. it will last the longest and is great for someone who is very active or works with their hands.

i''ve been researching for a while and something interesting that i found out is that when platinum is scratched you actually don''t really even lose any metal... it''s just displaced. that''s not the case with other metals. so even if your platinum ring ''scratched'' you could polish it up and still have the same amount of metal over time as you did when you bought it.

Mr. Legato

Rough_Rock
Date: 6/23/2009 2:09:35 PM
Author: MisterG
platinum is by far the most durable metal. it will last the longest and is great for someone who is very active or works with their hands.

i''ve been researching for a while and something interesting that i found out is that when platinum is scratched you actually don''t really even lose any metal... it''s just displaced. that''s not the case with other metals. so even if your platinum ring ''scratched'' you could polish it up and still have the same amount of metal over time as you did when you bought it.
thank you MisterG... my gf is very active ... she is a teacher and very active. and ive been debating on what to get for ering... either plat. or 18k white gold setting? i heard that plat. is hard to fix if its damage it. and white gold is easy to fix.

MisterG

Rough_Rock