shape
carat
color
clarity

OMC of my discounted dreams? Opinions needed!

AL12

Shiny_Rock
Hi all,

This will be a long post and I'm nervous to hear the feedback on this stone because maybe after months of searching I am really hoping this is the one. But of course I would be amiss to not take in the expert advice from this group.

Background: After coming back to PS for my ~10 year e-ring upgrade, I fell madly in love with OMCs and I cannot get out. Due to budget concerns, I was completely set on buying a lab-grown diamond but unfortunately (and I want to say I've looked at every single potential vendor you can throw at me), the cutting of lab OMCs are not yet on par with the faceting structure that I am looking for. I am mainly seeing cuts that mostly resemble antique cushions which I strongly considered but knew deep down it wouldn't satisfy my OMC itch. I've been hunting for about 7 months now, constantly refreshing what lab grown vendors and doing and lurking around antique sites.

Most recently, I decided that look of a true OMC was most important to me so due to budget I settled on going back to earthed-diamonds but lowered my preferred carat size to around the 1.4-1.6ct mark (and even then that would have stretched out my budget for the stone alone). My end goal is a trilogy ring and I still need room to purchase side stones and setting.

I stumbled upon this stone from an unknown antique vendor based in Belgium (if this is a reputable seller, their items are definitely worth a look!) which completely exceeded my ct size expectations for an earth mined diamond and at a price (pre customs and PP fees) that just looks amazing to me. Even now I am nervous to post this and will try to leave out some details since the stone still looks to be accessible on the vendor site ***LURKERS DO NOT SNATCH THIS STONE FROM ME UNTIL I HAVE MADE MY DECISION. THE VENDOR HAS ALREADY PLACED THIS ON HOLD FOR ME FOR ABOUT A WEEK AND YOUR PURCHASE WILL BE DECLINED***

Pros: