shape
carat
color
clarity

Sapphire search--beautiful blue or color changing?

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

Largosmom

Brilliant_Rock
Well, I''ve posted in a couple of other threads that I''m searching for a sapphire for my new engagement ring. Hubby is replacing my wedding set after 21 years of marriage, so I''m looking for something special. I have the setting already and have looked at a couple of decent stones, but they aren''t calling my name. Stone size needs to be 7.5mm for the setting...jeweler said that will be between 1.5 to 2 carats, most likely.

My original setting had a sapphire as well, so it is important to me that the stone be a sapphire. I''ll post another pic of the original...though this time I went for something totally different and not my normal style which is fairly small and conservative.

I am still learning about gemstones...have been reading like crazy here. Is it unreasonable to expect to find a really nice medium blue stone that is also a color changer? I love the pictures of the blue to violet/purple changing stones...and the ones with some greenish blue also.

I''m going to another jeweler tonight to look at a few stones, hopefully at least one color-changer. The first jeweler''s sources only had one brownish one, which is not what I want. If they don''t have what I want, I guess I''ll be contacting some of the cutters here. I looked on the Natural Sapphire Company website...love some of the colors, not so much the cuts.

Thanks for your help and thoughts!

Laura

RingLLS553.jpg

Largosmom

Brilliant_Rock
Another pic of the setting on my finger.

RingLLS549.jpg

Largosmom

Brilliant_Rock
Original set...sapphire is dark, and now chipped and worn looking though it was more sparkly when new. Sorry, lighting in my house is terrible.

RingLLSold554.jpg

chrono

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium