shape
carat
color
clarity

Help with a star sapphire

YadaYadaYada

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
The ring is 18k and it looks like old cut diamonds in the halo. I have zero experience with star sapphires so Mia there a way to figure out if this is synthetic based on pictures? Maybe not, but figured I would ask. TIA!

0DAE9581-C0D5-4293-BDAD-2108FC57E503.jpeg

5AA9014F-3E60-43FC-BC06-91B9AC2F1980.jpeg

972730DC-77EC-4074-993A-749220A9C19C.jpeg

Catmom

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
I am by no means an expert but some things to consider are 1] does the star move across the stone? If no then I think that means it may be fake. Also 2] are all the star legs equal in size? Perfect stars are hard to come by so usually a perfect star is something to question. 3] can you see the side of the stone? Is it all one piece or does it look like an opal doublet? If it looks like an opal doublet then it's probably a star on a backing fused to the top material. That's all I got, lol.

Dreamer_D

Super_Ideal_Rock
Are there inclusions in the stone? Can you see the silk? Can you see the underside of the gem?

It looks real to me on first glance. The six o'clock leg of the star in the third photo seem to be showing what @Starstruck8 called the "curtain effect", where the asterism permeates into the gem material like a curtain or trail of a falling star.

YadaYadaYada

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Thank you @Catmom and @Dreamer_D for your helpful tips, I do not have it in hand so had to go by pictures and video and I think it is real, it is also a really old ring that was bought from an estate of other old rings.

I bought it (with DH’s blessing) for my upcoming 45th birthday And I’m just really excited to get it. Will share of course once it’s here.

Starstruck8

Brilliant_Rock
I'd guess natural. It looks beautiful but not 'too perfect'. Great find!