shape
carat
color
clarity

Speaking of Opal rings...

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

MonkeyPie

Ideal_Rock
Opals are super soft and can be easily cracked. That said, I had one from the time I was 11 until I graduated, and it still looked new. And I was a clumsy kid. So I think it really depends on how hard you are on them.

brazen_irish_hussy

Ideal_Rock
It depends on a lot of things.
Some kinds, like jelly opals, tend to be a bit stronger. Fake ones are stronger because they use palemers (sp), not water to get the effect. Triplets have a layer of quartz over the top protecting the opal, so they are stronger as well. I have heard that certain "fire" types, are stronger than others as well with the harlequin or mosaic types being the weakest, but I am not sure about that.

However, I love antique jewelry and have seen 300 year old opal rings that don't have a scratch on them, so they can last if well taken care of.

I've had many opal rings over the years that I was not very careful with and all of them are fine.

violet02

Ideal_Rock
I LOVE the look of that one on ebay, anyone know if it''s any good?

As IF my FI won''t freak if I spend money on that right now... heh... even though it''s my money it''s still a lot! I love opals though.

littlelysser

Brilliant_Rock
I have an opal ring that I love love love...and I''ve been able to wear it pretty regularly.

As for that opal in particular...I love the setting, but the opal itself doesn''t seem particularly fiery to me...

violet02

Ideal_Rock
See, I don''t know that much about opals... I should read up on them more....

coatimundi_org

Ideal_Rock
Here's a great example of a fine opal. The play of color is gorgeous in this stone. I really love the darker opals. White opals are ubiquitous--the darker(black)opals are rare.